line decor
line decor

HomeCoachesNike Speed ShowdownPicturesLinks  


   Nike SPARQ Challenge


Justin Woods blazes to Fastest Man Title!

At the Nike SPARQ Challenge on Friday July 15 Speedburner Justin Woods of Los Alamitos High sped his way to an electronic timed 4.37 in the forty yard dash to win the title of Southern California's Fastest Athlete.  Incredible!  Out of over 2000 athletes tested from Bakersfield to San Diego, Justin now owns the title outright.  Congratulations Justin!

Not to be outdone, burner teammate Shane Henry of Esperanza High won the overall men's title with an unbelievable 97.5 SPARQ Rating.  Shane also won the vertical jump and 20 yard shuttle events.  Awesome job Shane!

Kevin Linehan of Los Alamitos took home the title in the bench press competition with 34 reps at 185 pounds and finished 7th overall. Sophomore Nick Benvenuto of Esperanza ran a personal best 4.6 forty in his race debut.  Great job guys!


On the girls side, Camille Buckley of Colony High placed second overall and won the vertical jump going 28.6.  La Toya Corley from Colony won the shuttle in a race off with fellow burner Tori Pena from Edison High.  Tawshana Collier from Colony finished third in the 30 yard dash and Amanda Kronquist from Brea Olinda High finished fourth in the Powerball Throw.  Great job girls!

Out of eight total events, Speedburner athletes took home six titles, finishing third in the other two.  Outstanding effort by all.

Congratulations and thanks to all of the athletes that competed, as usual, you represented Speedburners well.  Thanks for all the hard work, it certainly paid off.  We now look forward to defending and adding to our titles next year.

This Friday night at 11:00 pm Justin Woods, Shane Henry and Kevin Linehan will be featured on the TV show Friday Night Lights.  All three were interviewed and filmed after the event. It will air on KDOC.







Train Fast!!

home | coaches | nike speed showdown| pictures | links
copyright information ©2004. E-mail Us




      Fastest Man in California  

              Justin Woods     



    SPARQ Overall Champion

                Shane Henry



     Nike SPARQ Champions